Industry Resources

Government Services


Federal Emergency Management Agency

Emergency Management Institute

FEMA Emergency Management Institute (New)

National Incident Management System (NIMS)

CERT (Community Emergency Response Team)

OSHA - Workplace Violence

Department of Homeland Security  

Tornado Preparedness

US Geological Survey - Earthquake List

Recovery Lessons Learned & Information Sharing 

Basic Disaster Supplies Kit



Missouri State Emergency Management Agency

Earthquake Preparedness   

SEMA Training and Exercises

Tornado Preparedness

STL County - Workplace Violence


Centers for Disease Control

Emergency Preparedness and Response

Pet Protection

 National Weather Service 

NWS Weather Forecast Office, St. Louis, MO

    Weather Channel

Weather Bug

Industry Resources 

BC Management  

Continuity Insights  

Disaster Resource Guide

Business Continuity Institute  

Disaster Recovery Journal  


Continuity Central

 Missouri Emergency Management Association


Industry News

BCP News

Continuity Central

Volunteer Services

American Red Cross 

Salvation Army 

American Red Cross Tornado Preparedness


Industry Standards


ISO 22301 – specifies requirements to plan, establish, implement, operate, monitor, review, maintain and continually improve a documented management system to protect against, reduce the likelihood of occurrence, prepare for, respond to, and recover from disruptive incidents when they arise.

BS ISO/IEC 27031 – provides security techniques and guidelines for information and communication technology readiness for business continuity developed by the British Standards Institution (BSI).

PD 25666:2010 – provides guidance to all organizations on exercising and testing for continuity and contingency programs developed by the British Standards Institution (BSI).

PD 25111:2010 – provides guidance on human aspects of business continuity developed by the British Standards Institution (BSI).

ASIS SPC.1-2009 – provides a comprehensive management systems approach for organizational resilience developed by the American National Standards Institute and ASIS.

United States

NFPA 1600: Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs – The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States (the 9/11 Commission), recognized NFPA 1600: Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs as our National Preparedness Standard. Widely used by public, not-for-profit, nongovernmental, and private entities on a local, regional, national, international and global basis, NFPA 1600 has been adopted by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security as a voluntary consensus standard for emergency preparedness.

PS Prep Certification Program – a voluntary private sector preparedness accreditation and certification program developed and implemented by the Department of Homeland Security.

ASIS/BSI Business Continuity Management Systems - Requirements with Guidance for Use Standard – specifies requirements for a business continuity management system (BCMS) to enable an organization to identify, develop, and implement policies, objectives, capabilities, processes, and programs, taking into account legal and other requirements to which the organization subscribes, to address disruptive events that might impact the organization and its stakeholders

Industry Best Practices

BCI: Good Practice Guidelines  – The Business Continuity Institute (BCI) guidelines are aimed at providing individual BCM practitioners with an approach to building or improving an organization's business continuity program.

DRII: Professional Practices for Business Continuity Practitioners [PDF] – through its professional practice guidelines, the Disaster Recovery Institute International (DRII) offers a widely accepted framework for building resilience within an organization.

The DRJ Editorial Advisory Board (EAB) Generally Accepted Business Continuity Practices – contains a conceptual basis for program development vs. an auditable checklist.